Numix-uTouch is now desktop ready icon theme

During the recent week there has been a lot of amount of work put in the Numix-uTouch style icons. You can read more about theme here:

Numix Ubuntu Touch Style version 2 has just been released


So we are very happy to present you that you can install this icon pack on your desktop right now.
You can install it using the following command:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:numix-icon-theme-dev/utouch && sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install numix-utouch-icon-theme

Then apply it with the following command:

gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.interface icon-theme “Numix-uTouch”

And here is how it looks:
Numix-uTouch on the desktop
CAUTION: This is in active state of development so changes will enter on daily basis.
Known big issues:

  • Breaks Unity’s inidcators icons
  • Doesn’t play well with theme with dark toolbars (like Ambiance for example)

To get the most out of it we recommend using it with Gnome-Shell with the and with with “Numix” preset applied

20 thoughts on “Numix-uTouch is now desktop ready icon theme

  1. Just a heads-up: The term “uTouch” is trademarked, so I would avoid using it. Open Input Framework was previously called uTouch (unaware of the existence of a company with the same name) and had to be renamed because of that. Quite a hassle.

    • Wow. Well, if somebody starts whinning we can rename it, but they would have hard time making us removing “uTouch”, simply because it’s not named “uTouch”, but rather – “Numix-uTouch”.

  2. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to
    my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.

    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  3. I dont know why the installation fails, but I solve using Unity Tweak Tool. They look very nice, thank you =)

  4. I like this icon theme, but it would be nice to have a version with white/light indicator icons in Unity. The dark icons doesn’t work well together with a dark theme…

    I will use it anyway 🙂

  5. Pingback: Slick GTK3 Theme `Numix` Updated With Dark Theme Assets

  6. Pingback: Δυο νέα θέματα εμφάνισης και τρία σετ εικονιδίων [GTK]

  7. Hi,
    I installed theme using the ppa, applied them, look very good!
    but from that moment Ubuntu 12.04.2 (desktop, gnome shell) start up time significantly increased. And after login, desktop also need more time to be ready for access. It is possible to fix that somehow? Or this is the price payed for a good look?)

  8. This looks really awesome. My only question is what if I want some other icons themes which currently are?

    Do you take requests even if they are for $$. Or do you have any documentation on how we can create our own?

Leave a comment